Newsletter No. 211

Tas k Forc e t oAdvis e o n Institutiona l Integratio n Establishe d A task force ha s been established t o advise th e Un i ve r s i ty o n i ns t i t u t i onal integration. Th e membership of the task force i s as follows: Dr. Lee Hon-chiu, chairman o f the Council ( Ch a i r ma n ) Dr. Edgar W.K. Cheng, Council Member Mr. Roger K.H. Luk, Council Member Mr. Anthony Neoh, Council Member Prof. Kenneth Young, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Prof. L iu Pak-wai, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Prof. Jack C.Y. Cheng, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Prof. Rance P.L. Lee, Head, Chung Chi College (representing the colleges) Prof. P.C. Ching, Dean, Faculty of Engineering (representing the faculties) Prof. Richard M.W. Ho, Registrar Mr. Jacob S.K. Leung, Secretary of the University (Membe rand Secretary) Mr. Terence C.W, Chan, Bursar Ms. Yan Hau-yee, Lina, chairman of the Convocation ‧ Prof. Kwan Hoi Shan, president of The Chinese University o f Hong Kong Teachers' Association Mr. L i Wing-yuen, Aaron, president of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Staff Association Mr. Cheung Yiu Kuen, president of The Chinese University o f Hong Kong Students Union A second student representative of The Chinese University o f Hong Kong Students Union A representative o f the postgraduate students nominated b y the Dean of the Graduate School after due consultation (In their o fficial capacities as indicated) The terms of reference of the task force are as follows: (a) T o evaluate th e benefits an d consequences o f institutional integration t o CUHK; (b) To identify the issues concerning CUHK arising from and i n connection with institutional integration; (c) Having regard t o (a ) above, t o advise on ways t o deal with the issues identified i n (b) above; (d) T o conduct a feasibility study o n an integration o f CUHK and HKUST as currently being considered (w i th a n overall appraisal o f the educational, organizational, constitutional, operational, financial, and technical aspects o f such a n institutional integration) and it s impact on CUHK as a whole; t o enable a concrete proposal t o b e formulated an d presented for consideration by the University Council whether o r no t t o proceed with a n integration o f CUHK and HKUST; (e) To receive representations on institutional integration from the individuals, units, and groups concerned; (f) To undertake any other related assignments given t o the task force b y the chairman of the Council; and (g) To complete the final report of the task force the latest by 31st December 2003. 58th l Congregation : Prof . Ambros e Kin g t oB e Installe d a sVC , Fou r Distinguishe d Person s t oB eAwarde d Honorar y Doctorate s The University will install Prof. Ambrose Y.C. King as the new Vice-Chancellor and confer honorary doctorates on four distinguished persons a t its 58th Congregation on 5th December 2002. Prof. King was appointed b y the Council o f the University as the fifth Vice-Chancellor o f The Chinese University o f Hong Kong from 11th September 2002. He w i ll deliver his inaugural speech a t the installation ceremony. The four honorary graduands this year are Prof. J i Xianlin, eminent scholar i n oriental studies and world-acclaimed expert i n Eastern literature and languages; Prof. Ferid Mu r ad, Nobel laureate i n phy s i o l ogy /med i c i ne 199 8 an d cha i rman o f th e Department o f Integrative Biology and Pharmacology, University o f Texas-Houston Medical School; Ms. Le e Lai-shan, Gold Medallist i n Women's Mistral i n th e Olympic Games 1996 and in the Asian Games 2002; and Dr. L u i Che-woo, distinguished entrepreneur an d philanthropist, and chairman o f K. Wah Group, K . Wall International Holdings Ltd. , K . Wah Construction Materials Ltd., K . Wah Properties (Holdings) Ltd., and Stanford Hotels International. Prof. J i w i l l b e conferred th e degree o f Doctor o f Literature, honoris causa. Prof. Murad will receive the degree of Doctor o f Science, honoris causa. Ms. Lee and Dr. Lu i wi ll each be awarded the degree o f Doctor o f Social Science, honoris causa. Their citations w i ll be written and delivered by Prof. David Parker and Prof. Serena Jin. Details of special arrangements for congregation day can be found i n the 'Announcements' column on page 4 . CUHK Te ams Bag A l lMajo rAward s a t Microsof t Competitio n S tudents from the Department of Computer Science and Engineering won al l th e major prizes i n M i c r o s o f t 's We b Services Xce l l ence Awa rd Competition 2002, including HK$ 190,000 i n cash and research trips to Beijing. The award ceremony was held on 24th October 2002. The competition was organized b y Microsoft Hong Kong with I T leaders from the government and the Hong Kong Computer Society (HKCS) t o foster the development of the next wave of enterprise services and applications b y encouraging university students and professional developers to create cutting-edge web services on the Microsoft .NET platform. The CUHK team won tw o major prizes i n th e student category: the Best .NET Application of the Year Award and the Most Innovative Application Award. Their winning project is a system providing end-to-end solution from raw video input, information extraction, to video searching and streaming delivery. The winner of the first prize in the professional category was a 1996 graduate f r om th e University. Hi s project i s a n application for deployment i n film development shops in Hong Kong such as Kodak, Fuji, and Fotomax. I t allows customers to browse and mark their own digital photos for development at the counter. A l l the winners are from VIEW Technologies Laboratory, a laboratory jointly sponsored b y the University's Department o f Computer Science and Engineering, Department o f Information Engineering, and Department o f Systems Engineering and Engineering Management. The judging panel comprised representatives from the Information Technology Service Department, th e Hong Kong Computer Society, local universities, and Microsoft Hong Kong. Selection criteria included creativity, practicality, architecture, local market relevance, and technical excellence. CUHK winners posing with some of the organizers