Newsletter No. 319

第 319 期 2008 年 6 月 4 日 No. 319 4 June 2008 第三一九期 二零零八年六月四日 No. 319 4 June 2008 梁秉中教授─融合中西医术,堪称现代华佗 Prof. Leung Ping-chung─integrating Western and Chinese medical knowledge 矫形外科及创伤学荣休讲座教授梁秉中教授是知名显微外科及手部外科专家,他 自2000年起出任中大中医中药研究所所长至今,又曾任新亚书院院长。 Prof. Leung Ping-chung is an eminent expert in microsurgery and hand surgery. He has contributed significantly to CUHK and New Asia College by serving as the head of New Asia College. He has been the director of the Institute of Chinese Medicine, CUHK since 2000. 许耀君医生─履仁蹈义,体现儒家理想人格 Dr. Hui Yiu-kwan Dennis─exemplifying the Confucian spirit 许耀君医生为本港杰出企业家,现任让成置业有限公司永远董事及许让成纪念基 金有限公司董事总经理。许医生及其家族多年来慷慨支持中大及新亚书院。他自 2003年起担任新亚书院校董。 Dr. Hui Yiu-kwan Dennis is a distinguished entrepreneur in Hong Kong. He is currently the permanent director of Yeung Shing Land Investment Co., Ltd. and the managing director of Hui Yeung Shing Memorial Foundation. For years, Dr. Hui and his family have been distinguished benefactors of CUHK and New Asia College. He became a trustee of New Asia College in 2003. 杨汝万教授─精通「地」「理」,兼擅理论与实践 Prof. Yeung Yue-man─geographer conversant with both theory and practice 地理学荣休讲座教授杨汝万教授,1984年加入中大任地理学讲座教授和系主任,历 任大学教务长、逸夫书院院长、香港亚太研究所所长及沪港发展联合研究所所长。 Prof. Yeung Yue-man is an Emeritus Professor of Geography. He joined CUHK in 1984 as Professor of Geography and chairman of the Geography Department. He has contributed to CUHK by serving as registrar, Head of Shaw College, director of the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies and director of the Shanghai—Hong Kong Development Institute. 屈志仁教授─目光远大,为文物馆奠定方向 Prof. James C.Y. Watt─defining visionary mission of University museum 现任美国纽约大都会博物馆亚洲艺术部主任的屈志仁教授,1971年加入中大,任 中国文化研究所文物馆创馆馆长,以支援大学的教学和研究为文物馆的首要任务。 Prof. James C.Y. Watt is the Brooke Russell Astor Chairman of the Department of Asian Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. In 1971, he joined CUHK as the founding curator of the Art Gallery (subsequently renamed Art Museum) of the Institute of Chinese Studies. He defined the University museum’s primary mission as supporting teaching and research projects. 中大颁四荣誉院士 CUHK Confers Four Honorary Fellowships 左起:许耀君医生、梁秉中教授、屈志仁教授、杨汝万教授 From left: Dr. Hui Yiu-kwan Dennis, Prof. Leung Ping-chung, Prof. James C.Y. Watt, Prof. Yeung Yue-man 中 大在5月19日举行第七届荣誉院士颁授典礼,大学校董会主席郑维健博士主礼,颁院 士衔予四位与中大渊源深厚的贤达,表彰他们对大学及社会的卓越贡献。当日出席 典礼的嘉宾包括前中大校长、现联合书院校董李国章教授、1994年中大荣誉社会科学博士冼 为坚博士、1998年中大荣誉社会科学博士方润华博士,以及联合书院校董张景文牧师等。 典礼当晚,大学设宴款待逾80位嘉宾,同贺四位新院士。郑维健博士席上致辞时,称赞四 人学术成就独当一面,且是中大的支持者、革新者、守望者。 T he Chinese University of Hong Kong held its Seventh Honorary Fellowship Conferment Ceremony on 19 May. Four distinguished persons who have been closely associated with the University were conferred the title of honorary fellowship in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the University and the community. Dr. Edgar Cheng, chairman of the University Council, presided at the ceremony. Guests in attendance included Prof. Arthur K.C. Li, former Vice-Chancellor of CUHK and current trustee of United College; Dr. David W.K. Sin, 1994 Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa , CUHK; Dr. Fong Yun-wah, 1998 Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa , CUHK; and Rev. Cheung King-man, trustee of United College. On the same day, a banquet in honour of the honorary fellows was held. Over 80 guests were in attendance. Speaking about the honorary fellows at the banquet, Dr. Edgar Cheng said, ‘In their own fields or spheres of influence, each of them is a renowned figure who commands great respect and has made seminal contributions.’ He continued, ‘They have been champions, pioneers and overseers of the development of the University.’