Newsletter No. 339

No. 339, 4.6.2009 第三三九期 二零零九年六月四日 No. 339 4 June 2009 中大颁五荣誉院士 CUHK Confers Five Honorary Fellowships T he Chinese University of Hong Kong held its Eighth Honorary Fellowship Conferment Ceremony on 18 May at Lee Hysan Concert Hall, Esther Lee Building. Five distinguished persons who have been closely associated with the University were conferred honorary fellowships in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the University and the community. They were the Honourable Cheung Man-kwong, Mr. Chung Wing-kok Leslie, Prof. Kuan Hsin-chi, Prof. Lee Shiu-hung, and Mr. Mok Wah-chiu Christopher. Dr. Edgar W.K. Cheng, Chairman of the University Council, presided at the ceremony. Giving the vote of thanks to the University on behalf of the fellow recipients, Mr. Cheung Man-kwong said the most memorable plants on the Chinese University campus have to be azaleas and Chinese red pines. In particular, Chinese red pines are suited to the hard and shallow topsoil of the University. They green the hills, like distinguished scholars in former, less privileged times. On the same day, a banquet in honour of the honorary fellows and in celebration of the 45th anniversary of the CUHK was held at the Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Shatin. Over 180 guests were in attendance including former Vice-Chancellors Prof. Arthur Li and Prof. Ambrose King. Speaking at the banquet, Dr. Edgar W.K. Cheng said that over 50 distinguished individuals have been inducted to the roll of Honorary Fellows. The growing community is a major asset for the University, propelling its development past and future. ‘The 45th birthday is a celebration of youth. Blessed with the wisdom of maturity and the innocence of the child, the youth embraces the future, in which uncharted waters beckon with boundless potentials.’ He has full confidence that the University will scale new heights and command new horizons as it looks forward to the golden jubilee. 香 港中文大学第八届荣誉院士颁授典礼于5月 18日假利黄瑶璧楼利希慎音乐厅举行,由大学 校董会主席郑维健博士主礼,颁授荣誉院士衔予五位 贤达,以表彰他们对大学及社会的卓越贡献。他们是张 文光议员、钟永㖞先生、关信基教授、李绍鸿教授及莫 华钊先生。 典礼上,身为中大校友的张文光议员代表受衔者致谢, 他称中大校园最为同学怀念的植物,是杜鹃和马尾松。 马尾松甚适合中大石硬土浅的地质,以拓荒者的姿态绿 化山头,象征中大先辈先贤的奋斗精神。 当晚,大学于香港沙田凯悦酒店举行恭贺荣誉院士暨 四十五周年校庆晚宴,款待逾一百八十位嘉宾,前中大 校长李国章教授及金耀基教授亦同出席见证。 郑维健博士说,中大现已有五十多位荣誉院士,这支日 益壮大的队伍,是推动大学今后发展的强大动力。他又 称「四十五年历史的大学,是处于青年时期,既有成年 人的智慧,又不失赤子之心,对未来满怀憧憬,酝酿 探索四方的锐气。」他深信到中大庆祝五十周年之际, 必如日中天,更有一番新气象。 (续下页 To be continued ) 左起:金耀基教授、郑维健博士、刘遵义校长及李国章教授主持切蛋糕仪式 From left: Prof. Ambrose King, Dr. Edgar W.K. Cheng, Prof. Lawrence J. Lau and Prof. Arthur Li at the cake cutting ceremony 左起:张文光议员、钟永㖞先生、关信基教授、李绍鸿教授及莫华钊先生获颁荣誉院士衔 From left: The Honourable Cheung Man-kwong, Mr. Chung Wing-kok Leslie, Prof. Kuan Hsin-chi, Prof. Lee Shiu-hung, and Mr. Mok Wah-chiu Christopher were conferred honorary fellowships